Something Good from Bury

If you were to say the word ‘Bensons’ to a Buryite of a certain age, then firstly their eyes may mist over, soon to be followed by a little sigh as they fall into a chocolate-lime induced reverie.

For several decades and way before Gene Wilder brought Willy Wonka to life, Bury had its own ‘Chocolate Factory’ and the little chap with the toffee-shaped head became familiar to people all around the world as the face of Bensons Confectionery.

Benson’s tin belonging to the Hargreaves family

Thanks to the foresight of one lady, Gladys Ratcliffe, whose father Harry Hargreaves was one of the founders of the business that later became Bensons, we have a first-hand account of the history of this much-loved local company and its origins in the Walmersley area of Bury.   Gladys’s account tells us how Emanuel Pickles started a small confectionery business – Scott & Rose – in 1900.  This was based on Topping Street, near the bottom of Walmersley Road.  A couple of years later he was joined in the enterprise by Harry Hargreaves.  They began to make ‘Tower Sauce’, along with some jams and sweets.  Gladys recalls accompanying her father to Manchester’s Shudehill Market to buy the fruit.  The business grew and moved to larger premises in the old ‘Wolstenholmes’ factory on Huntley Mount Road, off Bell Lane.

Benson’s delivery van

This heralded a new beginning as the sauce business was sold and the decision taken to concentrate on just the jams and sweets.  A new name was required as it was felt that ‘Pickles & Hargreaves’ did not fit the bill!  Out of the hat came ‘Bensons’ and a whole new era dawned.  Harry Hargreaves came up with the slogan ‘something good from Bury’ and his son, Clifford, designed the little ‘Bensons man’ figure that appeared on their distinctive tins, packaging and advertising.

Business continued during World War I, although by now the company had jettisoned the jam in order to focus on confectionery.  Bensons was always very much a family business and in 1921 Harry’s son Alan joined the firm.  In 1937 Alan was joined by his brother Clifford but being a highly qualified engineer he was called up during World War II.   Bensons continued during the war, having been nominated to produce goods for other firms, who would then add their own labels.   They continued to trade post-war, although by now they faced stiff competition from other brands.  Clifford, now back from designing Lancaster Bombers, became Sales Director and travelled overseas to investigate potential new markets.

In 1960 Bensons merged with the Liverpool-based firm Barker & Dobson, and later merged again, this time with the makers of Victory V’s, Nelsons.  Production continued until the late 1980s when Alma Scotland (whose brands included Squirrel and Keillers) took over.  In 1988 the decision was taken to cease manufacturing and Bensons closed its doors in June 1989.  The factory was demolished and in the early 1990s Aldi opened one of their first supermarkets in the area on the site, which still flourishes today.

Benson’s factory. Photo from our image archive

Throughout the 1960s and 70s,  the white paper bags overflowing with sweets and toffees of different colours and flavours were a familiar feature of local households and as a small child I can recall a lovely liquorice aroma filled the air when the wind was blowing in a particular direction.

Many thanks to the Hargreaves family for very kindly bringing in these splendid Benson’s tins and photographs to share with us, some of which are currently on display in our Searchroom, so come along and help yourself to some real toffees and be transported back in time…

Did you work at Benson’s?  Which sweet was your favourite?  …and what was Tower Sauce?

We would love to hear from you!

Helen (Chocolate Limes)

Helen

This entry was posted in Display Cabinets, Local History and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to Something Good from Bury

  1. Anthony roy Fitzsimmons says:

    Yes i work for Bensons sweets for 10 yeas for John rede

  2. Maureen Hackworth (née Harper) says:

    I used to work at Bensons in 1965, my favourite were chocolate eclairs

  3. Micky M says:

    I used to work at bensons in 1974 . At the time l lived with my gran l was 20 years old. And it was handy because I lived only ten minuets walk away. I loved all the sweets esp liquorice and blacurrant l used to buy a pound weight of sweets for 10p at the time and when l’d finished work at 5pm , and was turning into hazel avenue were I lived one lad about 12 years old would shoot toffee man’s here then about ten kids from about 3 to 10 years old would come running out of their houses l’d then lift my working bag from shoulder and share the bag of sweets between them oh what happy summer days from Micky m

    • buryculture says:

      Hello Micky, Thank you for sharing your memories of Bensons Sweets, you must have been a very popular person round your way. Liquorice and blackcurrant seem to be one of the favourites!

  4. Tami Swart says:

    Can you please tell me if there was a Benson mint ?

  5. Roxanne says:

    This is so interesting. I think I live in the house that Alan Ratcliffe and the Bensons owned in Walmersley.
    KR
    Roxanne

    • Ian Ash says:

      They also made a sweet, called ‘Chocolate Mint Crisp’, looked just like a chocolate lime, but was white in colour. They were nice. Also, Barker and Dobson, Princess Sugared Almonds, were the nicest of any.

  6. Timothy Hastings says:

    Was there an eye clinic (late sixties) just up from the factory? I remember walking past Bensons when I was a child on my way to the eye clinic, I could hear the sweets rattling down the conveyors from outside. I also remember my father bringing home large white bags of assorted sweets from Bensons (not for re-sale printed on them), he must have known someone who worked there.

    Happy days!

  7. Horiike says:

    I have just seen a Palestinian family living in Lebanon on an old Youtube video showing documents kept in a Queen Mary tin. So I searched the name on the side an it led me here.

    At minute 1:24

    It really got around the world!

  8. Mary Porter says:

    My favorite candy was the black currant licorice. I’m sad when I think I can’t ever have one again

  9. Paul Dickinson says:

    I remember shouting up to the windows (the building in the B&W Photo) in the 70s with my mates
    as I lived on the estate and it would literally rain down choc limes & Black currant Liquorice I spent the rest of my life at the dentist, Happy Memories

  10. Charlotte says:

    Chocolate limes and the chocolate éclairs. I remember my father bring home the blackcurrant éclairs but not a hit with my sister and me

  11. A Honeywell says:

    I lived on Deal Street which was very close to the factory and I remember the sweet scents wafting across the road. I could still smell it when we lived on Walmersley Road. In the 70s my mum’s fella worked there for a while and I recall a black bag, half full of sweets, arriving in the house. I don’t remember eating many of them though.

    They did do a glacier-like clear mint, a chewy spearmint, humbugs and Everton mints. My favourites were chocolate limes and blackcurrant & liquorice. My nan liked the mints and I was rather fond of the mint humbugs too.

  12. Robert says:

    ..messaging from the USA States here, Wisconsin, on the Great Lakes. Just yesterday 3/24 i found a Benson tin w/the Queen Mary ship graphics on the lid. I was thrilled! The imaging is top notch. Sounds like from what ive read here ive missed alot ! I will have my impressive tin to enjoy and remind me of the glorious past….

  13. Clive Garnett says:

    My Grandad (Edgar Lovell) was part of the management of Benson’s for many year’s. I have in my possession, his note books containing the ingredients and comments regarding the production of certain sweets that the company used to produce. I would love to hand these over to
    any history museum in Bury concerning this matter.
    As a child I remember being shown around the factory on many occasions and at the end of the tour was given a box of goodies which I can remember also containing sticks of rock?
    Would love to hear from anybody who may of worked or hand a family member, working at Benson’s the same time my Grandad was there.

    • buryculture says:

      The notebooks sound fascinating! I have sent you a private email with further information should you wish to donate your notebooks to the archive. Best Regards, Wendy

  14. Susan & Mike Foggo says:

    Yes I worked at the Benson’s factory in Huntley Mount Bury, just after I left St Gabriel’s R.C. Sec.. school, in the early to mid 60’s, my favourite sweet was Chocolate Eclairs and Menthol, Eucoliptus tablet toffees, I left Benson’s confectionery just before myself and my family emigrated to Melbourne Australia in 1968, we could buy Benson’s confectionery in Australia for a short time, I really miss not being able to get Benson’s confectionery now , I am wondering if I can get Benson’s toffees today as I really miss not having Benson’s toffees today.. I would really appreciate if I can get some Chocolate Eclairs and Menthol Eucoliptus toffees if it is possible…my aunt & uncle also worked at the Benson’s confectionery factory her name was Lillian Burke.. it would be so geared if we could have some sent over to Melbourne Australia for us please..thanks Sue and Mike Foggo..

  15. Graham Botterell says:

    My father and I were salesmen for Bensons working the South West calling on shops and wholesalers in that area.

    My father was killed in a car crash in 1972 while working for them and I carried on working with them till 1984
    when I could see the end of sweet shops selling loose sweets.
    Happy Days though

Leave a comment